Lincoln County Journal

Follow Us On:

Elsberry High School holds National Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Posted on Monday, March 25, 2013 at 10:44 am

Elsberry High School National Honor Society held their annual spring induction on Thursday, March 14 in the high school library. Sixteen new members joined the rank of the prestigious program at EHS with the other 19 veteran members. The program began with a welcome from chapter president, Braden Spratt and continued with a tribute to Jillian Young, by school principal, Steve Hill. Sponsors for the group, Karin Busiere and Sarah O’Brien, both spoke and recognized all members. Refreshments were served to all those family members and friends present for the ceremony.

Currently NHS is involved in several Community Service Projects they include: monthly Charity Bake Sales, EHS Senior Recognition Breakfast, Operation Backpack, Red Cross Blood Drive, Spirit Week Canned Good Collection, Teacher Appreciation Project and Veterans Breakfast in conjunction with the American Legion Auxiliary. They also currently partner with the following groups: A+ tutoring program, Elsberry Senior Health Care Center, Explorers Club, Friends of Elsberry Literacy Book Sale, MO Chip Youth Identity Program and Scholastic Holiday Book Fair.

NHS inductees are front row: Madison Cleveland, Bailey Zimmermann, Amanda Talbot, Felicia Pruitt, Tina Melvin, Tanner Bencomo, Matt Henry, Ashley Thompson, and Kristy Burkemper. Back row: Melissa Grasso, Krista Dye, Charles Fraction, Cody Shaw, Thomas Hensley and Tara O’Brien