Lincoln County Journal

Follow Us On:

From the archives: Silex teams win district championships

Posted on Monday, March 6, 2017 at 10:30 am

60 Years Ago
March 8, 1957
Howard Schieffer, Spring Creek and Nancy Murphy, Silex, were selected as the Lincoln County 4-H King and Queen.

W.G. (Bunk) White, of Whiteside, a prominent businessman, died Feb. 28 at the Lincoln County Memorial Hospital in Troy,

Miss Alice Ann Weinand, a junior in the School of Journalism at Missouri University, was initiated into the Theta Sigma Chi, a national honor fraternity for women in journalism.

50 Years Ago
March 10, 1967

Linda Creech and Mike Whalen, both of Troy, were named to the honor roll at Culver-Stockton College in Canton.

George Reid, of Okete, was installed as the president of the Lincoln County Extension Council. Russell Monroe is the vice-chairman; Bill Dunard, treasurer, and Mrs. Charles LaRue, secretary.

40 Years Ago
March 9, 1977

Gerald Jackson Jones, Jr., president of Citizens Bank of Troy, died March 6 in Clarksvillle, He was also serving as president of Clifford Banking Co., in Clarksville.

Porter Conley, principal at Moscow Mills Elementary, will retire at the end of this year.

Gary Leifert has joined Boatmen’s Bank of Troy, as assistant vice-president. He is a graduate of Wayne State in Nebraska.

30 Years Ago
Those volumes have not been located.

20 Years Ago
March 5, 1997

The Troy girls basketball team defeated Hannibal 52-46 to win the district championship. Team members include Carolyn Reinker, Sarah Lawrence, Michelle Spies, Erin Roettger, Shelly Turpin, Brooke Nett, Nicole Lindsey, Katy Morrison, and Kelly Jackson. Renee Bishop was the head coach assisted by Jenny Hammett and Jeremy Mitchell.

10 Years Ago
March 7, 2007

The Silex Owls and Lady Owls captured district titles in the Class 1A district tournaments held in Chamois. Members of the boys team included Scott Grasshoff, Justin Wotring, Ronnie Martin, Joseph Smith, Gary Freihoefer, Andy Fleming, Willy Huber, Eric Gibson, Brad Eisenbath, Jimmy Williams, Trent Klein, Justin Ray, Shawn Pezold, Aaron Henke, Michael Mudd. Shannon Jeffrey was the head coach assisted by Robert James.
Girls team included Lonni Miller, Karla Hubbard, Ami Kuntz, Kaylynn Rice, Mary Smith, Heidi Miller, Alex Rice, Jenny Mudd, Laura Hopkins, Ashley Fleming, Staci Dallas, Shaylynn Carden, and Rebecca Lipsey. Robert James is the head coach