Lincoln County Journal

Follow Us On:

Harke elected president of banking association

Posted on Monday, September 30, 2013 at 8:28 am

Darrell HarkeJerry Sage, Senior Executive Director of the Missouri Independent Bankers Association, the state’s premier banking association exclusively representing over 170  independently-owned community banks state-wide, announced the election of the group’s new officers for the 2013-2014 terms of office:  Chairman of the Board: Edward W. Buscher, The Missouri Bank, Warrenton; President: Darrell Harke, Bank of Old Monroe, Old Monroe; President-Elect: Paul B. Hill, Community State Bank of Missouri, Bowling Green; Vice-President: T. Scott Waller, Farmers & Merchants Bank, St. Clair and Secretary-Treasurer: Michael Wasson, Midwest Independent Bank, Jefferson City

Darrell Harke, the Association’s newly elected president, has previously served as Association President-Elect and Vice-President. Mr. Harke has served on the Association’s Board of Directors for a number of years and on various MIBA committees. Mr. Harke has been actively involved as a community banking leader throughout his career at Bank of Old Monroe, Old Monroe. Mr. Harke has been with the bank for 23 years serving as President/CEO of the Bank of Old Monroe since 2002.

The Association’s elections were held at its 36th annual convention, Sept. 9-11 at The Lodge of Four Seasons, Lake Ozark.

The Missouri Independent Bankers Association, which exclusively represents the interests of Missouri’s independently-owned community financial institutions, was the first state independent bankers association to be formed in the country and was chartered in 1959.  The association serves community banks throughout Missouri, providing legislative representation, education and seminar programs, as well as other services designed exclusively for community banks.