Lincoln County Journal

Follow Us On:

Voters elect John Cottle sheriff, Kunza Mennemeyer circuit judge

Posted on Monday, November 12, 2012 at 8:28 am

Lincoln County voters elected a new sheriff and circuit judge based upon the results of Tuesday’s general elections in Lincoln County

Republican John Cottle defeated incumbent Sheriff Mike Krigbaum 12,650-9,349. Krigbaum was elected in 2008. Cottle returns to county law enforcement  having served with former Sheriff Dan Torres.

“I would like to thank the residents of Lincoln County for electing me Sheriff,” said Cottle.  “I look forward to the opportunity to serve the county and its constituency. A special thank you to everyone who volunteered throughout my campaign.”

(To see an interview with the Sheriff-elect, go to

In the race for Circuit Judge in the 45th Circuit, Chris Kunza Mennemeyer, Republican, defeated Associate Circuit Judge Ben Burkemper 11,090 – 11,082 in Lincoln County. She also received more votes in Pike County.

Burkemper told his supporters on Facebook  “the results were disappointing but we have no regrets about the race we ran. We are beyond blessed to have a close family and amazingly supportive friends,” he wrote.

Burkemper will remain in his position as Associate Circuit Judge.

Also elected into office for a first term at the county level include: Eugene Galloway, Democrat, Associate Commissioner Dist. 1; Republican Kristen Buriemper, Treasurer and Republican Lisa Sitler, Coroner.

Lincoln County voters rejected Prop Life Matters, a tax levy increase proposed by the Lincoln County Ambulance District. The issued only received 37 percent of the vote (8,168 yes to 13,831 no).

Lincoln County registered voters showed up this past Tuesday and the county wide turnout (64.98 percent) was right in line with the state wide average.  Altogether 22,883 ballots were cast in the county.  In the August 2012 primary 23.86 percent of voters turned out. That is a difference of 14,644 ballots between the two elections.  Crystal Hall, county election authority, increased the number of election judges at polling places and recruited student election participants to prepare for this influx of voters.  There are 24 polling places in Lincoln County with a total of 130 election judges and 21 Troy FFA students staffing them for the November 6 election.

“Having 65 percent of the 35,000 voters participate in the election is a spectacular problem to have.  I hope the county continues to show up at the polls in such an active way,” said Lincoln County Clerk Crystal Hall.

Among those returning to county office  include: Blaine Luetkemeyer, U.S. Representative, (R); Ed Schieffer, State Representative (D); Matt Bass, Associate Commissioner, District 2 (R); Kevin Bishop, Assessor (R); Crystal Hall, County Clerk (D); Betty Cox, Public Administrator (D) and Donald Parr, Surveyor (D).

The following  are the unofficial vote results from the Lincoln County General Election (the top two in each race):

PRESIDENT: Obama/Biden, 7,733, Romney/Ryan 14,330

SENATOR: Claire McCaskill 10,224, Todd Akin 10,858.

GOVERNOR: Jay Nixon 10,728, David Spence 11,091.

LT. GOVERNOR: Susan Montee 8,120, Peter Kinder 11,962.

SECRETARY OF STATE: Jason Kander 9,324, Shane Shoeller  11,516.

STATE TREASURER: Clint Zweifel 9,324, Cole McNary 11,011.

ATTORNEY GENERAL; Chris Koster 10,729, Ed Martin 10,396.

U.S. REPRESENTATIVE (District 3): Eric Mayer 7,601 Blaine Luetkemeyer 13,168.

STATE REPRESENTATIVE (District 40): Paul Quinn 111 Jim Hansen 156.

STATE REPRESENTATIVE (District 41): Ed Schieffer 9,588, Beverly Steiniger, 6,857.

STATE REPRESENTATIVE (District 64): Wayne Henke 2,940, Robert Cornejo 2,470.*

CIRCUIT JUDGE (No. 45): Ben Burkemper 11,082, Chris Kunza Mennemeyer 11,090 *

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONER (District 1): Eugene Galloway, 5,732, John Scheper 5,258).

ASSOCIATE COMMISSIONER (District 2): Lisa Seely 4,729, Matt Bass 6,002.

SHERIFF: Mike Krigbaum 9,349, John Cottle 12,650.

ASSESSOR: Kevin Bishop 18,420.

COUNTY CLERK: Crystal Hall 11,588, Vanessa Guyot 10,152.

TREASURER: Kristen Burkemper 18,959.

PUBLIC ADMINISTRATOR: Betty J. Cox 12,371, Carol Wessel Boyer 9,342.

CORONER: Kelly Arcand 10,114, Lisa Sitler 11,214.

SURVEYOR; Donald Parr, 17,486.

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT NO. 3: Yes 4,601,  No 16,482.

PROPOSITION A: Yes 12,343   No 8,714.

PROPOSITION B: Yes 8,285  No 13,959.

PROPOSITION E; Yes 14,042  No 7,193.

PROP LIFE MATTERS: YES 8,168  NO. 13,831.

* Lincoln County totals only

“I want to thank the people of the new Third Congressional District for their overwhelming support and I look forward to continuing to serve as a commonsense, conservative voice in Washington D.C., said Rep.  Blaine Luetkemeyer.  I will focus on reducing out-of-control spending, holding the line on job-killing taxes and working to create jobs for our citizens.

The Third Congressional District includes Lincoln County.