Lincoln County Journal

Follow Us On:

Winfield, Elsberry school issues pass, some surprises in election

Posted on Tuesday, April 2, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Voters in the Lincoln County R-IV  (Winfield) and  R-II (Elsberry)  School Districts passed ‘no-tax’ increases  at Tuesday’s election.

Winfield voters approved their with a 562-226 (71 percent) margin. This will finance new outdoor recreational fields at the high school and make needed improvements at district buildings.  The Elsberry school issued received 80 percent (520-125) approval.

There is a tie in the Ward 2 race in the City of Winfeld with Larry Cudney and Eugene Madsen each getting 69 votes.

The City of Troy has one new alderman as Ron Walters defeated Todd Walker 72-70 in  the unexpired term in Ward III.

In the  Lincoln County R-III School District, Dan Busekrus, a retired teacher, received 647 votes and Dale Black, a former board member, also won a seat with 644 votes. Randy Siebert was third with 631 votes. In the Elsberry school board race, incumbents Alan Lagemann  and Mike Bange were re-elected to new terms.

In other unofficial returns, here are some of the other winners (in contested races):

Elsberry Special Road District:  *Jackie Briscoe 361, Larry Lehmkuhl 248.

Troy Alderman Ward II: *Lisa Anderson 110, Lance Oerter 39.

Elsberry Ward II: *Thomas Kinion 120, Kevin Hill 42.

Winfield Mayor: *Pat Grimler 128, David Goodwin 79.

FoleyWard II: Ruby Stonebraker 68, * Joyce Payer 70

Foley Ward I: *Kathleen Schimpf 6, Kenneth Lesley 2

Foley Ward II: *Keith Aubuchon 7,  Tory Cameron  1

Hawk Point Alderman At Large: *Jenni Crigger 29 and a tie between Bryan Margadent and Mutemah Sinclair  at 20 votes each.

Silex Mayor: *David Rice 25, Justin Spanier 8.

* Winner